Major Love for Leftovers

I adore an opportunity to cook, on average I’d say I cook 5 nights a week.  And for me cooking isn’t opening a jar of spaghetti sauce and boiling some noodles or making tacos.  Although I do these things from time to time, in my book that’s assembling a meal, not cooking.

To me the best part about cooking is leftovers, because sometimes you actually don’t feel like cooking or have time to.  Well, getting to eat a delicious home cooked meal is also pretty satisfying, but what’s even better is when you look in your fridge at 8am the next day and don’t even have to think about lunch, because you already have it taken care of.  And we all know that most food tastes better the next day. I’ll admit, sometimes I make lasagna on a Sunday afternoon, stick it in the fridge, and then make something entirely different for dinner.  Almost like it’s not worth it to dig right in.

So what’s there to take away from this?  If you’re 2 people cook for 4, if you’re 4 cook for 6 or 8 etc.  You’ll save money because you won’t have to buy crappy overpriced sandwiches for lunch, you’ll be less stressed because you won’t have to worry about what to have for lunch and you’ll be happier, because you’re eating your own food, not someone else’s.  Brilliant idea…someone should start a food truck that sells leftovers! Good stuff like lasagna, shepherd’s pie and macaroni and cheese.  The catch would be, it’s all made the day (or two) before.

The beauty of the leftover program is that once you’re on it, you’re hooked.  Now when I go a few days without cooking I feel lost and forlorn and the though of eating processed foods sends me into action.  So my advice to you is go out and buy the ingredients for your favourite casserole and make it this weekend…so you have leftovers, hooray!

And in case you don’t have a favourite casserole, feel free to try one of mine. Chicken pot pie with chive mashed potatoes (from Epicurious).

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have leftover roast beef and yorkshire puddings to heat up for dinner.

Leave a Reply

