Breakfast for Dinner

One of the great things about being an adult is you can pretty much do whatever you want, whenever you want, and well within those boundaries is having breakfast for dinner. Everyone loves breakfast right?  You’re lying if you say it isn’t the best meal of the day. When else is it commonplace to eat salty crisp bacon alongside berries and whipped cream?  So when I come home after a long day and it looks like the picture below out, there’s nothing I want more than breakfast for dinner.  

My usual go to breakfast for dinner menu includes my husband’s favourite, steel cut oatmeal (cheap, nutritious and delicious, the downside is it takes 30 min. to make), but tonight I wanted something quick and felt like eggs.  Since I really suck at making omelettes I decided to give a frittata a go (sounds fancy doesn’t it!).  I was inspired by my friend Melissa who is a wonderful cook (thebountyhunter.ca), and who made an amazing frittata for me recently.  I had always thought you baked frittatas, but in order to get that beautiful puffy crispy top the secret is using the broiler.  I tried it tonight and it was like magic.  POOF!

Because I really didn’t feel like going to the store (even though it’s in my building) I gave myself an Iron Chef challenge, to use up what was in my fridge.  It was pretty slim pickings since I haven’t been very culinary this week, but I ended up with a fantastic red pepper, mushroom and caper frittata.  Here’s what I did:

  • Sautee red pepper and sliced mushrooms in some butter
  • Whisk 6 eggs and add a splash of milk
  • Pour eggs over veggies once they’re done to your liking
  • Sprinkle capers around
  • Run a spatula around the edge of the pan to slightly lift the frittata and allow liquid egg to run below
  • Do this until the frittata is starting to set on the sides but is still runny in the middle
  • Top with cheese
  • Put it in the oven about 4-6 in. from the broiler and broil on high for 2-3 min
  • Make sure you use an oven mit when you remove your skillet!!!  Sounds dumb, but I’ve grabbed a very hot skillet handle before!
  • Sprinkle with fresh herbs if you have them and let it rest for a few minutes before cutting

I figure this thing cost me about $4 to make, but it’s something you’d pay a lot more for at a restaurant.   You can add pretty much any veggies you want (maybe not eggplant, that would be weird), or bacon or salami, or really whatever makes you happy!  I don’t think you can screw this one up!

I know eggs and veggies aren’t nearly as exciting as waffles with whipped cream and strawberries (which yes, I do eat for dinner on occasion), but when you say frittata it sounds so exotic…it’s also really healthy, but you don’t have to tell anyone that.

So the next time you’re stumped on what to make for dinner and are thinking A&W sounds good and fast, consider having breakfast for dinner!  Open up your fridge and pull out what you can to make a delicious frittata; you’ll be glad you did!

Oh, and one more piece of advice.  Just because you can do whatever you want as an adult (like eat chocolate after every meal) you do not get a free pass to wear socks with sandals!

1 thought on “Breakfast for Dinner”

Leave a Reply

