Eating Ice Cream Like a 5 Year Old

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but for some strange reason I gravitate towards ice cream flavours enjoyed mostly by children under the age of 10.  While most adults would pick rocky road or tin roof sundae I’m likely to go for bubblegum or orange sherbet.

I had this realization tonight as I sat enjoying my very large bowl of root beer float ice cream (with a marshmallow ribbon…are you jealous yet?).  I enjoy gourmet things, but when it comes to ice cream I’m like a kid in a candy shop.  Anything with bright colours or candy bits embedded in it will make my mouth water.  I guess it’s the child in me that wants to remember the good old days where life was simpler and neon blue ice cream wasn’t bad for you, because I’m sure there’s no chemicals in that.  And while we’re on the topic, I must say that bubblegum ice cream that’s blue is far superior to the pink variety.

As a kid I got overwhelmed at Baskin Robbins.  If they didn’t have some nasty red #5 ridden flavour I’d get all flustered and pick plain vanilla.  So why as an adult do I still want kids ice cream?  Well that’s a mystery we’ll all have to endure a bit longer, but in the meantime if you want to embrace your five year old and get an awesome sugar high, try the Island Farms root beer float ice cream.  It’s soooooo good!

And don’t judge people by their ice cream preferences, it’s not nice.

Leave a Reply

