Tough Mudder and why are all the restaurants in Whistler crappy?

This post is a two parter, a summary of my weekend in Whistler…

Part One: Tough Mudder

When my husband told me he has signed up for Tough Mudder I thought he was insane. Running up and down ski hills, through the mud, jumping in pits of ice water, carrying logs and fighting your way through live electric wires didn’t sound like a fun way to spend 4 hours to me.  Mind you, I’m a huge baby and complain about the Grouse Grind.  At any rate, he was so excited that I had to be supportive of his decision and shelve my apprehension over his having to sign a death waiver to participate.

The boys lucked out big time on event day, the forecast for Whistler originally called for cold temps and 30 mm of rain, but the sun came out and helped keep them warm as they ran over snow banks and swam in lakes of ice.  We caught up with them about 3/4 of the way through the course, caked with mud, a bit scratched and running out of gas.  We watched them climb through a snow obstacle and then shuddered at the thought of them having to run up the ski slope behind us.  We then situated ourselves right in front of the Electroshock Therapy obstacle (because who doesn’t want to see their husband do a face plant after being shocked???), but they made it through unscathed (there’s some debate as to whether or not the wires were actually live). They crossed the finish line with big smiles on their faces and a lot of man love in their hearts.

I really wish that I wanted to do Tough Mudder, because I’m sure I could train up and be physically ready to do it, but I don’t think I have the mental stammina to complete something like that.  But I am very very proud of those who completed it, congratulations to all the Mudders!

Part Two: Why are all the restaurants in Whistler crappy?

So when you have hungry Mudders in your presence, the night before the big event, you need to eat a big meal right?  I’ve been to Whistler a bunch of times over the years and it seems that either I keep getting snobbier about food, or the restaurants keep getting worse.  I think the latter is true and my friends agreed.  Whistler has become a tourist mecca since the Olympics, and I think restaurants have realized that you can cash in big time but serving mediocre pub food at exorbitant prices (like $25 nachos at Citta).  When I’m on vacation, even for a weekend mini-break, I want to eat well and I don’t want to pay through the teeth to do so.  I’ve had amazing meals in Whistler at Araxi and the Rim Rock Cafe, but those places aren’t within my every day budget.  So on Mudder-eve we ended up at The Mix by Ric’s and I had quite possibly the worst spaghetti and meatballs of my life.

I don’t think their Kobe beef spaghetti and meatballs actually utilizes Kobe beef, strike one! Strike two was the over cooked pasta and strike three was the complete lack of sauce; sorry greasy oil doesn’t count.  They’re out!  Whatever, we needed to eat and we got fed. But after the Mudder, it was a different story, we wanted to go for a nice dinner to reward our boys for being so tough.  We debated about where to go, and came up with very little. Unless you either want to break the bank or want over priced shitty pub food you’re really out of luck in Whistler these days.  With 14,000 people in the Village we settled on The Keg, because they could seat us and were still serving full dinners at 10pm.

What Whistler needs is more places like the Southside Diner in Creekside.  I’m hesitant to blog about how great this place is, because I don’t want the tourists to run it over.  I’ve only ever had their breakfast,  but I can’t imagine anything on their menu not being amazing. It’s a quirky greasy spoon, but with a bit of Whistler hipster charm and honest to goodness damn good food.  My favourite is the BELTCH sandwich.  Sounds sexy doesn’t it?  It’s the most perfect breakfast sandwich ever.  Bacon, egg, lettuce, tomato, cheese and ham. YUM!  My husband is a huge fan of their Big Ass Pancakes; he recommends adding blueberries and a side of bacon.  Southside is run by real people, locals eat there, and because it’s not in the main village the prices are totally reasonable.

Other than that the only other place I’ve eaten in Whistler that’s worth mentioning is Celadon, which is an awesome Koren BBQ place.  It’s high end, but not crazy expensive, and it’s something a bit different.  It’s run by Koreans so the food is authentic and it’s not overly popular with the tourists who seem to pack into places that are a bit more within their dining comfort zone.

So after a weekend of mud, sun and fun, I was happy to get home and be able to prepare my own food.  Unfortunately because of the crappy dining scene, Whistler is beginning to lose it’s luster for me.  But we’ll be back next year for Tough Mudder, I will probably not be participating, but regardless, I will be there because the sense of camaraderie is infectious and I know my Mudder is itching to get out on the course again.

2 thoughts on “Tough Mudder and why are all the restaurants in Whistler crappy?”

Leave a Reply

