Fabulous Fish Tacos

If there’s one food trend I’ve noticed really taking off in the last year or so it’s fish tacos.  At first it seemed like a strange thing to order in a restaurant.  Some nondescript white fish, slathered together with some creamy sauce on a soggy tortilla is what initially came to mind, but after seeing these beauties pop up on the menu at just about every joint in town I started trying them.

Now my husband and I argue over who gets to order the fish tacos when we go out, since he refuses to get the same thing as me in a restaurant.  He usually wins, and then I’m left staring in envy at his meal.  A few of my favourite places for fish tacos are Cactus Club (I know, it’s generic), Chronic Tacos, Local in Kits, and of course, La Taqueria.  If you happen to be at Rogue, skip the fishies there, not such a good choice.

I like to tell myself that fish tacos are generally a healthier option than most other items on the menu.  They typically don’t come with fries and if you get pan fried fish vs. breaded and fried it’s still a tasty, yet low-cal option.  I’m also a huge fan of cabbage, which is almost always on fish tacos these days.  It stays crisp and it has way more nutrients than crappy ice berg lettuce.

So as my obsession with fish tacos continues to grow, I decided to try my own version at home last night.  I don’t eat out much, so I like to be able to reproduce restaurant menu items at home.  I still haven’t nailed down a good recipe for chilli chicken so please share if you have one!  Anyways, here’s how I made my very own fish tacos:

  • 1 filet white fish (cod, mahi mahi, haddock, or halibut)
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • thinly sliced green cabbage (or if you’re lazy buy pre-cut coleslaw)
  • diced tomatoes
  • corn or small flour tortillas (I prefer corn and got these great ones made by La Tortilla Factory last night)
  • chipotle lime mayo (1/4 c mayo, 1t chipotle paprika, juice of 1/2 lime)

Marinate the fish in lime juice and a little olive oil for at least 10 min.  Then cut the fish into  1/2 inch cubes and sprinkle the fish with salt and pepper.  Saute the fish in 1-2 T olive oil over med heat until cooked through (3-4 min).  Add any seasonings you want such as parsley, cilantro, or cayenne pepper, really anything will go with white fish.  Then assemble your tacos (fish, cabbage, mayo, tomatoes) and top with hot sauce.  These look totally impressive on a plate and are a quick and healthy weeknight dinner.

But please don’t try bringing your leftovers to the office the next day; these babies don’t travel or reheat well at all.  So be adventurous and instead of buying the Old El Paso ‘taco night kit’ give these a try!  Even the fussiest eater won’t say no to fish tacos!

Oh yeah, and they’re great with margaritas on the patio!

1 thought on “Fabulous Fish Tacos”

  1. I love fish tacos, and have also taken to making them quite a bit this past year! I usually use tilapia as my fish becuase I can get it so easily and cheaply! Gotta love the cilantro and lime though – it really just makes the fish tacos pop and taste a bit fresher than normal tacos!

Leave a Reply

