Italy Inspired Chocolate Zucchini Bread

I’m going a little bit crazy at the moment with excitement for my upcoming trip to Italy.  I’m trying not to burn myself out on Italian food in advance because I want to experience the real deal when I’m on the ground.  So with pasta, polenta and pizza on the shelf I thought I should do some baking.

Zucchini bread was the first thing that came to mind as I have fond memories of making it with my mom around this time of year.  So when my friend posted a photo of some chocolate zucchini muffins she’d made on her blog the other day I knew it had to happen. Her recipe was inspired by one from Seven Spoons for Chocolate Olive Oil Zucchini Bread.  Since I’m on my whole Italy kick, this sounded perfect.

I’ve only baked with olive oil one other time, using a recipe for pound cake from the Dirty Apron Cooking School here in Vancouver and it was really good.  I naturally crave more savoury, earthy flavours so it’s a great butter replacement if you’re inclined to try it.  It’s also arguably a healthier fat.

So I pretty much followed the Seven Spoons recipe, except I used a little bit less chocolate (because I ran out), a little less sugar because I don’t like overly sweet things, and I omitted the walnuts because they make my tongue itchy.  I briefly considered adding raisins, but got vetoed by my husband.  I did as the recipe suggests and grated the zucchini in my food processor and then laid it out between two tea towels to squeeze out some excess moisture.  I now have two bright green tea towels, but it’s all part of the process!

I just peeked in the oven to rotate my loaves and it smells truly amazing.  I’m not even going to wait to post this until I’ve tried it because I know it will be a winner.  I also probably won’t be able to wait until it’s cool to eat the first piece.  Patience is a virtue I just don’t seem to have.

2 thoughts on “Italy Inspired Chocolate Zucchini Bread”

  1. Update, it was delicious, but I should have put in the full amount of sugar, even a bit more would have been ok since I used 70% dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. I loved it, my husband wanted it sweeter though.

Leave a Reply

