An American in Canada, My Thanksgiving Tradition

I’m not overly fond of most things ‘American’ and if you asked me my country of citizenship I’d say Canadian.  But there are some things you can’t let go of when you’ve lived the first 22 years of your life in the states.  And Thanksgiving is one of them.

Unfortunately for me, I don’t make it down south for turkey day often, in fact the last time I celebrated on US soil was in 2006.  So I’ve had to come up with a way to get a convenient turkey dinner on a weeknight, since cooking a turkey after work would put me at the dinner table around 9pm.

Thankfully my husband’s former roommate was the king of takeout dining and introduced me to Steamrollers, a burrito joint here in Vancouver with a couple of different locations around town.  He also informed me that a couple of select weeks each year (Canadian Thanksgiving, US Thanksgiving, and Christmas I believe) they offer what some may consider the holy grail of burritos.  That’s right, the turkey burrito!

I had it my first Thanksgiving in Canada and it’s been my tradition every year since.  I rave about it to other Americans, and usually try to round up a crew to experience this amazing foodie feat with me.  It may sound as gross as a turducken, but trust me, it’s good.  It has real Thanksgiving turkey, mashed potatoes and stuffing, rolled up in a tortilla, and then it’s smothered with gravy and cranberry sauce.  The only other thing you need to complete your meal is some pumpkin pie.

Don’t look at the nutritional content of this bad boy, because it really is a complete turkey dinner.  And no, it’s not as good as a feast at your grandma’s, or your college potluck, but if you’re in your Canadian home away from home this year, give it a try.  And Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

