Sometimes you really need a little KD

I love to cook, and I love eating healthy, unprocessed food.  But sometimes, a girl just really needs a little KD in her life.  It’s my dirty little secret.  I can’t help it, I love macaroni and cheese from the box.  Wow, it feels really good to say it.

kraftdinner_Aug15_large (1)

I think my obsession with KD started when I was about 3 and had a babysitter who served it all the time.  I learned early on that it’s best eaten with ketchup to mask the cardboard box flavour.  I think that’s also when my ketchup obsession started, but that’s a completely separate issue.

I used to buy it by the flat at Costco, and in college I bought the single serve, microwavable version…yes, we all remember Easy Mac.  Then I grew up and realized that the yellow cheese like substance in the packet was probably toxic and I went cold turkey, off the KD for several years.

It’s not something I keep in the house on a regular basis, but when I get sick it’s really the only thing I can think of to eat.  It’s super easy to make, and now they have all these different versions depending on your mood.  I’ve tried the one made from cauliflower (which I assume is used to trick kids into eating veggies), and the one with the Velveeta cheese sauce (vs. powder) is pretty good, despite being super ghetto.  I’ve even tried dressing it up. Pesto totally works.  Ranch dressing, not so much (don’t try that, it’s gross). Hot dogs aren’t my thing, but bacon is good.  But what it all boils down to for me, is that l’original is still the best, with ketchup of course!

2292804904_00eabeefef_b

So there you have it, a sneak peak into my soul.  Don’t judge or hate, cause I bet you eat weird stuff when you’re sick too.

Leave a Reply

