2012 – The Year of the Tomato

As 2012 comes to an end, it’s a time to reflect on all the wonderful things I’ve fed myself this year.  2012 has been a great year for me food wise.  I started this blog, which has been an awesome creative outlet, I went to Italy and ate some of the best meals of my life, I had an epic foodie girls weekend in Denver, and I tried to push myself out of my comfort zone in terms of cooking and eating.

I’m not super into food trends; I’ve always thought bacon and cupcakes were great.  I didn’t need someone to tell me that they were ‘popular’ to like them, nor do I feel the need to wrap everything I eat in bacon, or make cake pops.  I’m still not exactly sure what the point of a cake pop is.  Why would you want a stick in the middle of your cake?

But if we characterize our years by food like the Chinese do by animals, then 2012 would definitely be the year of the tomato for me.  It’s almost unfortunate, because in Italy I was reminded what tomatoes actually taste like, and I haven’t been able to reproduce that taste since.  But since I probably ate a whole years worth of tomatoes in the two weeks I was there it’s all good.  My search for the perfect North American tomato will continue!

In terms of trying new things, I ate sardines and anchovies.  I forced myself to eat beets to the point where I now love them, I ate way less meat and I discovered a new love for dark beer (yeah, I actually crave Guinness now) and bitter aperitif’s.  So maybe in 2013 I’ll eat chocolate covered grasshoppers or something really weird.

aperol

I’m not sad to see 2012 go, and I am very much looking forward to new beginnings in 2013. Travel plans are taking shape for another adventure to Europe and I truly feel like I’ve finally embraced the ‘I’ll try anything once’ philosophy.  In terms of resolutions, I’d like to learn more about where my food comes from, and make informed decisions about what I’m buying, especially meat products.  I want to hone my pasta making skills, cause right now they’re pretty weak, and I’d like to visit the farmer’s markets more frequently, which should be a snap now that I have a bike!  I also would like to resolve to stop buying cheap shit wine.  Life truly is short to drink swill, so perhaps I’ll drink less, but only good stuff.

So tonight in true foodie fashion, I’ll be watching the ball drop after having enjoyed a wonderful meal.  I’m not the type to get all done up and run around in the streets on NYE, so I’ll be enjoying it all from the comfort of my own home.  I’m picking up boil-a-bag takeaways from Vij’s Rangoli, which are always a delicious treat.  Nothing warms you up on a cold winter night like a nice lamb curry!  I’ll be washing it down with an Aperol spritz to remind me of the hot Italian summer, to be followed by a very lovely bottle of Note Bene wine from the Okanagan (which I conveniently won at a breakfast seminar).

Vij

So Happy New Year, I hope 2013 brings you nothing but good things.  I think it will be a pretty good year in my kitchen!

2013

Leave a Reply

