A Bike is a Foodie’s Best Friend

Living and working downtown makes it pretty pointless to have a car, so my husband and I decided to sell ours 5 years ago.  People thought we were nuts to be carless, but we joined Modo, a car sharing non-profit cooperative, and were pretty stoked on saving a ton of money every month.  It enabled us to travel more and just live better in general.  But I did feel like I was missing out on the ability to quickly run out for groceries.  There’s a IGA in my building, but their produce selection is lacking and the meat is questionable.  But this week, my world changed.  I bought a bike!

Bike

I’ve ridden a bike a handful of times in the last 15 years.  But my husband started commuting to work on his bike in the fall and I started thinking about how cool it would be if we both had bikes and could go places together.  Everyone knows that an outing on a bike is way more fun than one on the bus.  As he said, our world just got a whole lot smaller.  And it’s true!

As a foodie having a bike is a beautiful thing.  Want to go to Granville Island, no problem. Get take out from Rangoli and not have to wait for the bus, yes please!  And today, on an impulse I decided to ride my bike over to the old Bosa Foods on Victoria Drive.  I picked up some fiore de latte mozzarella, prosciutto and my favourite castelveltrano olives. Everything is suddenly within reach now that I’ve got wheels.  I guess I could have gone to all these places on the bus before, but it just seemed like such a hassle.  And now I get to go where I want while getting fresh air and exercise.

bosa_images

I can’t wait for summer, the farmers markets, brunch on Commercial Drive, long rides to Spanish Banks and who knows where else.  We’re already planning a trip over to West Van to the Savary Island Pie Company.  Can’t wait for that one!

Savary

So a week into owning my new bike, I’m totally smitten.  I can’t wait to explore more of the city I’ve lived in for 10 years and uncover new foodie delights that I’m sure are hiding around every corner.

bell

Leave a Reply

