Going Veg (for a week)

I recently got access to my mom’s US Netflix account and it’s like documentaries on demand; which is a problem for me.  So we started watching food docs…

It started with Forks over Knives and ended with Vegucated on Friday night.  We’ve been making more conscious food choices for a while now; eating organic dairy & veggies, scaling back our meat consumption and only buying Ocean Wise seafood.  But what we didn’t realize was that all this stuff we thought was uber healthy actually might not be.  The link between meat consumption and certain cancers is shocking.  Organic milk (or dairy products in general), well that’s not great either!  And then there’s the treatment of the animals 😦

get-vegucated-7

Did you know that in order to produce milk, cows have to constantly be pregnant?  It’s kind of a no brainer when you think about it, but I guess I never did.  And it breaks your heart when you see their babies taken away from them.  I could go into more detail but I won’t, because we all make choices, and the choice to educate yourself on these matters is yours and yours alone.  But be prepared, the industrial food chain is a real bitch.  It’s one of the most dangerous industries to work in and I can only imagine the psychological impact.  You think those save the children commercials are bad, well what you’re eating is much much worse!

So because there is no way I could commit to going vegan, we’re taking baby steps and going vegetarian for a week.  We already eat veg 3-4 times a week, but need to get over the idea that meat is required for protein.  So far so good, although I have found myself wanting to snack more, and it’s only day 2.

Do I think we’ll actually go vegetarian?  Probably not, but I know that after we eat up all the mass produced industrial farmed animals in our fridge that we’ll be making decions based on the quality of life what we’re eating had.  We all have to die at some point, but humans receive dignity in death and so should animals.

cow

We’re prepared for the extra expense, and figure that by eating less meat in general the cost will even itself out.  And we’re switching to almond milk, because I’ve known for a long time that humans shouldn’t be consuming milk in the quantities we are (or at all).  I’ll still buy a bit of milk for my coffee and for cooking, but I’m getting the Avalon Dairy stuff now, and gone are the days of the gallon and in are the days of the 1 litre bottle.

Leave a Reply

