Tempeh, No Way

Vegetarian week continues in my house, and although I have quite a few veg recipes up my sleeve, I decided I should try a few new things too.  So in my Spud.ca order this week I decided to get some tempeh.  The husband was keen for the coconut curry flavour so I threw it in the cart.

tempeh

Neither of us had ever had it before, but we really like tofu, and I’d heard that tempeh is actually better for you.  It’s fermented vs. GMO like most tofu and other soy products are (they contain isolated soy protein).  Apparently it’s big in Indonesia; they must know how to cook it beter than I do, because it was pretty much the worst thing I’ve ever tasted.

I’ll admit I didn’t give it much of a chance.  From the moment I saw it sitting there in the package looking all sad and pathetic, to when I cut the plastic open and took in the smell, I just wasn’t keen.  The brand I bought comes from Oregon and being a good Oregonian I went ahead and put it in my stir-fry and decided to give it a go.  But wow, is it un-appetizing, even with a ton of sriracha on it.

I took one bite and couldn’t handle it.  The texture was all kinds of wrong and the fake coconut curry flavour was overwhelmingly bad.  My husband’s comment was “well now we know what it’s like to eat brains”.  So if anyone has better ways to use this stuff please let me know.  I’m now going to be on the hunt for non-GMO tofu, if that even exists.

2008_09_23-tempeh

So I ended up eating half a cucumber, a handful of nuts, a few leftover gnocchi and some of my fake Holy Crap cereal for dinner.  Pretty much the least satisfying meal ever.  So the herbivorous activity will continue for another 3 days and then at the end of the week I’ll be rewarding myself with something delicious…and probably meaty because the thought of trying to eat tempeh again is too much for me.

2 thoughts on “Tempeh, No Way”

Leave a Reply

