Discover Grain Meat

I decided to try a mostly vegetarian diet a few weeks ago and I’m well on my way to only eating locally sourced, free range, happy dead animals.  I do cave in every so often, like when presented with the opportunity to eat really good butter chicken.  But on average I’m eating meat only once or twice a week.  The thing I found I was missing was a meat substitute to eat with things like mashed yams and green beans.  Things I would have normally had sausages, or prosciutto wrapped chicken with.

And then I discovered Field Roast.  They make a line of grain meat sausages and roasts. Until recently I didn’t know what grain meat was, but it’s also referred to as seitan, which is a bit more commonly known.  Grain meat is vegan and it’s been around for a very long time.  The Buddhists created it in the 7th century as an alternative to tofu (which was apparently too soft for them).  It’s basically dough with all the starch removed and is very protein rich.  It was refined over the years, and then in 1997 the good folks at Field Roast in Seattle hit the sweet spot with a line of meat alternative products.

Field Roast

At $6.99 for 4 sausages at Whole Foods, I was a bit skeptical, but decided to give it a try.  I picked up their Smoked Apple Sage links that are made from yukon gold potatoes. There’s no tofu, they’re all natural and absolutely amazing grilled up on the bbq.  The perfect solution to my yam and green bean dilemma.  The texture, the flavour, it all totally works.  And unlike veggie ground round and those other meat substitute products that are GMO’d to the max, the Field Roast sausages don’t try to be meat.

These products are quickly becoming a staple in my kitchen.  Last week all the Field Roast products were on sale at Whole Foods, so I picked up their Italian sausages (eggplant and fennel) as well as their Celebration Roast (made with mushrooms and butternut squash). Apparently they also have a meatloaf and a hazelnut cranberry roast en croute which I hope I can get my hands on at some point. Even if you’re not a vegetarian give these guys a try, because we could all stand to eat a little less meat!  Trust me, you won’t feel like you’re missing anything at all.

Celebration roast

2 thoughts on “Discover Grain Meat”

  1. Thanks G!!
    My last meat-free discovery was Tempeh which I now use 1/2 & 1/2 with organic ground beef or ground turkey for amazing burgers that are 1/2 as bad (at least) and rich in Tempeh goodness! (ie high in probiotics!)
    I’m going to hit Whole Foods for Feild Roast presto pronto!
    And congrats on going mostly meat free!
    My fav part is how DANG good meat tastes when you do splurge! 😉

Leave a Reply

