The Feast at East is East

I recently had the pleasure of experiencing what every Vancouverite should have on their foodie bucket list, the other worldly ‘feast’ at East is East.  I had been to their location on Broadway years ago, but it’s a bit out of my way, so I never ventured back.  But when I heard about this ‘feast’ business I was, from that moment on, dying to try their new one on Main Street.  

east is east

Ok, so first, before you commit you have to know when you’re in for.  East is East, although having amazing food, has very uncomfortable chairs.  They’re essentially tree stumps (do not wear tights here).  They also don’t have much in the way of a bar, so if you’re thinking of going for a big boozy night out, think again.  Yes, they have a liquor license, but once you have a sample of their chai you’ll forget all about that glass of wine you wanted.  

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s talk about the amazing food.  For $25 you can do the ‘feast’, which consists of your choice of a soup and salad (3 of each to choose from), 2 main courses form their menu, and rice, roti and something called boulani which I’d never had before.  Once you finish 80-90% of your food, your sever will come by and ask if you want more.  To this you respond yes!  

Food

You can then continue your gluttonous journey down the silk road.  This isn’t the kind of place you want to fill up on buns at if you know when I mean.  The main dishes are so wonderful, and all so different that it would be a damn shame not to save room for seconds.  I think it’s probably frowned upon to ask for seconds, and then promptly ask for a doggie bag, and you shouldn’t waste food because that’s never good, so be responsible in your second round.

Because I’m a new mostly vegetarian, I decided to not even look at the meat dishes.  I had the dal soup (amazing), a beet salad (which I wouldn’t get again), and then I went for the peas & cheese and chickpeas.  I’m a sucker for chana masala.  

Cheese & Peas

Oh man, was I in heaven when my platter of food arrived!  The peas & cheese was by far the star of the show.  Their paneer literally melts in your mouth.  For round two I went for the alu gobi which was also delicious.  Everything was amazing in its own right.  Even the beet salad I ragged on earlier.  It was really good; it was just a lot of beets.

East is East is perfect for date night, a dinner out with the girls, or even a special occasion. It’s packed so call in advance to make a reservation, which according to my friend who hooked us up, was a bit of a challenge.  But hey, I get it, these guys aren’t exactly the Open Table type of joint.  I still dream about my feast and can’t wait to go back again!

Leave a Reply

