Iceland and Hotdogs

I’m heading off to the land of Vikings, Bjork, and exorbitantly priced alcohol in a couple of weeks.  First stop is Iceland, then on to Denmark and last stop Norway.  I know what you’re thinking.  It’s cold, rainy and expensive in those countries, so why the heck would you want to spend your holidays there?  But I knew what I was getting into before I booked my ticket.  I love the idea of traveling somewhere most people would never consider going. Mexico certainly isn’t for me (no judging, I’m sure it’s great), and after a sunny holiday in Italy last year we decided to branch out.

reykjavik460x276

As a foodie I was initially very excited about the prospect of eating amazing Scandinavian food.  After all the world’s best restaurant, Noma, is in Copenhagen.  They’re doing a lot of interesting things in terms of the local food movement which is really cool.  And in the back of my mind, I couldn’t resist thinking about Swedish meatballs, even though I’m not going to Sweden.

But on closer inspection, it seems that Scandinavians, Icelanders in particular, eat a lot of hotdogs.  I figured they must be extra fancy ones with a Japadog like angle, but nope.  All the guidebooks I’ve read say in Iceland it’s all about straight up normal ketchup and mustard style hotdogs.  Apparently the place I’m supposed to go is Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur and ask for one with ‘the works’.  Supposedly these are the best hotdogs in Europe.  A bold statement, which I will be sure to report back on.

Hot dogswrapper

I haven’t eaten a boring old hotdog in a very long time.  I’m a .99 pizza kind of girl late on a Friday night, so it’s probably been at least 10 years since my last dog.  Am I excited now that I know what’s in store for me?  As a ‘mostly vegetarian’ these days I’ve decided to really let loose and try anything once while I’m on my trip.  And if hotdogs are truly the national food of Iceland I’ll gladly go there.  As for puffin, I’m undecided as to whether or not I’ll experience that.

puffin-skip

1 thought on “Iceland and Hotdogs”

  1. The photo of that puffin is so cute. I tasted puffin in Iceland, last year. Would do it again, it was delicious and it’s normal food in Iceland. Have a good trip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

